Polar Vortex

Looks like I can start acclimating to Martian conditions before I even leave home!

Temperatures on Mars are quite a bit lower than Earth, thanks to a longer orbiting distance and a thinner atmosphere. While summer temperatures near the Martian equator can reach a comfortable 70deg F, lows can easily exceed minus 100deg F.  I think I’ll stick with a Michigan winter for now.

On simulated Mars (sMars) temperatures are also quite low. The HI-SEAS habitat is built near 8,000ft elevation allowing for cooler temperatures year round.

 

One thought on “Polar Vortex”

  1. Haha! I imagine Canadians would love to brag on this. Being from the southwest I’ll have to stick with “hotter than Mars” in the summer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

